Fantasy, Adventure, Legends, and Family Legacy in These "Shang-Chi" Read-Alikes

Readers who loved Shang-Chi's action, adventure, and lore should enjoy these three titles.

Courtesy of Marvel Studios


Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

PG-13. In theaters, Disney+.

In this latest Marvel blockbuster, Chinese American Kung Fu master Shang-Chi must return home to confront his father’s militarist organization, the Ten Rings. With nonstop action, this exciting and eye-catching film will please longtime fans of the Marvel universe and newcomers alike.



 

READ-ALIKES

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin. Little, Brown. 2009.
Gr 3-6–Chinese girl Minli must save her village by finding the Old Man of the Moon along with a friendly flightless dragon and a talking fish. While Shang-Chi is faster paced, readers interested in Chinese legends and quests will be entranced.

The Dragon Path by Ethan Young. Graphix. 2021.
Gr 4-7–In this fast-paced, steampunk graphic novel, Prince Sing must save his family after a surprise attack by the Dragon Tribe. Fantasy-adventure fans who love their stories action-packed will enjoy this quick read.

The Dragon Warrior by Katie Zhao. Bloomsbury. 2019.
Gr 4-7–This adventure story based on Chinese mythology stars biracial (Chinese and Mediterranean) 12-year-old Faryn, a member of the elite demon hunting organization the Jade Society. Faryn must complete a quest to claim the envied role of Heaven Breaker. Fans of martial-arts action and themes of family legacy will enjoy this fast-paced series starter.

 

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.
Sorry !!! Your comment is not submited properly Or you left some fields empty. Please check with your admin


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?