YALSA Announces Five Finalists for 2023 Award for Excellence in Nonfiction

The winner will be announced during the Youth Media Awards ceremony on January 30.

The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) announced its five finalists for the YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction, which honors the best YA nonfiction book published between November 1 and October 31.

The 2023 finalists are:

Abuela, Don't Forget Me by Rex Ogle. Norton.

American Murderer: The Parasite that Haunted the South by Gail Jarrow. Calkins Creek.

A Face for Picasso: Coming of Age with Crouzon Syndrome by Ariel Henley. Farrar.

Unequal: A Story of America by Michael Eric Dyson and Marc Favreau. Little, Brown.

Victory. Stand!: Raising My Fist for Justice by Tommie Smith, Derrick Barnes, and Dawud Anyabwile. Norton.

The winner will be announced during the ALA Youth Media Awards ceremony on January 30.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing