2024 Youth Media Awards Winners

A list of the winners of the 2024 Youth Media Awards.


Following is a list of winners announced at this morning's 2024 Youth Media Awards ceremony during ALA's Lib Learn X in Baltimore, MD.  This article will be updated as winners are announced.

Please check back at slj.com throughout the day for more coverage, including interviews with winning authors.

John Newbery Medal

The Eyes and the Impossible by Dave Eggers, illus. by Shawn Harris

Randolph Caldecott Medal

Big by Vashti Harrison

Michael L. Printz Award

The Collectors: Stories, edited by A.S. King. Written by M.T. Anderson, e.E. Charlton-Trujillo, A.S. King, David Levithan, Cory McCarthy, Anna-Marie McLemore, G. Neri, Jason Reynolds, Randy Ribay, and Jenny Torres Sanchez


Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

Fox Has a Problem by Corey R. Tabor


Children's Literature Legacy Award

Pam Muñoz Ryan


Excellence in Early Learning Digital Media

Work It Out Wombats! produced by WGBH Kids and Pipeline Studios


Odyssey Award

El Deafo, produced by Matie Argiropoulos, written by Cece Bell, narrated by a full cast 

Young Adult
Promise Boys, produced by Macmillan Young Listeners, written by Nick Brooks, narrated by a full cast

Robert F. Sibert Medal

The Mona Lisa Vanishes: A Legendary Painter, a Shocking Heist, and the Birth of a Global Celebrity by Nicholas Day, illus. by Brett Helquist

Mildred L. Batchelder Award

Houses with a Story: A Dragon's Den, a Ghostly Mansion, a Library of Lost Books, and 30 More Amazing Places to Explore by Seiji Yoshida, translated by Jan Mitsuko Cash

ALSC Children's Literature Lecture Award

Kyle Lukoff


Pura Belpré Awards

Youth Illustration
MexiKid: A Graphic Memoir by Pedro Martín

Children's Author 
MexiKid: A Graphic Memoir by Pedro Martín

Young Adult Author 
Saints of the Household by Ari Tison



YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

Accountable: The True Story of a Racist Social Media Account and the Teenagers Whose Lives It Changed by Dashka Slater


William C. Morris Award

Rez Ball by Byron Graves

Alex Awards

Bad Cree: A Novel by Jessica Johns
Chain-Gang All-Stars by Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Chlorine by Jade Song
Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros
The Hard Parts: A Memoir of Courage and Triumph by Oksana Masters
I Will Greet the Sun Again by Khashayar J. Khabushani
Maame by Jessica George
Starter Villain by John Scalzi
The Talk by Darrin Bell
Whalefall: A Novel by Daniel Kraus


Margaret A. Edwards Award
Neal Shusterman


Coretta Scott King Book Awards

Coretta Scott King Author Award
Ibi Zoboi for Nigeria Jones

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award
Dare Coulter for An American Story 

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award
Jade Adia for There Goes the Neighborhood

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator Award
Briana Mukodiri Uchendu for We Could Fly

Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement 
Christopher Paul Curtis


Stonewall Book Award

Cross My Heart and Never Lie by Nora Dåsnes

Young Adult 
Only This Beautiful Moment by Abdi Nazemian


Schneider Family Book Awards

Young Children 
Henry, Like Always by Jenn Bailey, illus. by Mika Song

Middle Grade 
The Fire, the Water, and Maudie McGinn by Sally J. Pla

Forever is Now by Mariama J. Lockington


Sydney Taylor Book Award

Picture Book
Two New Years by Richard Ho, illus. by Lynn Scurfield

Middle Grade 
The Dubious Pranks of Shaindy Goodman by Mari Lowe

Young Adult 
The Blood Years by Elana K. Arnold

Body of Work Award
Joni Susman

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

Picture Book
The Truth About Dragons by Julie Leung

Children's Literature
Ruby Lost and Found by Christina Li

Youth Young Adult Literature
I'd Rather Burn Than Bloom by Shannon C.F. Rogers 

American Indian Youth Literature Award

Picture Book 2 winners
Forever Cousins by Laurel Goodluck, illus. by Jonathan Nelson
A Letter for Bob by Kim Rogers, illus. by Jonathan Nelson

Middle Grade
We Still Belong by Christine Day

Rez Ball by Byron Graves


YMA 2024 Press Realease

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing