Caldecott Collection: Vol. IV

26 min. Weston Woods. 2018. $59.95. ISBN 9781338232226.
PreS-Gr 4—This compendium of reissued videos based on Caldecott Medal—winning classics includes Robert McCloskey's Time of Wonder, Leo Lionni's Inch by Inch, and Peter McCarty's Hondo & Fabian. Each story features panoramic views of the book's illustrations, complemented by expressive narration, appropriate sound effects, and instrumental background music. In particular, Time of Wonder engages all the senses as viewers experience summer on the coast of Maine, taking in the brightly colored sailboats and listening to waves crash. Each tale also offers a learning guide featuring a summary, objectives, and before and after viewing activities.
VERDICT These Caldecott classics, whether shown individually or independently, should find a home in most elementary school collections, thanks to their memorable art and appealing narratives.—Anne Bozievich, Friendship Elementary School, Glen Rock, PA

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing