Read-Alikes for Fans of 'The Baby-Sitters Club,' 'Wonder Woman 1984,' 'Mismatched,' and Other Releases

Books for kids who like these summer and fall 2020 shows and movies.

READ-ALIKES

President of the Whole Fifth Grade by Sherri Winston. Little, Brown. 2010.
Gr 3-6 –When Brianna’s celebrity chef hero credits her success to being elected fifth grade class president, Brianna, who is Black, sets out to win an election of her own. An entrepreneurial story about a strong girl who makes things happen. Brianna’s a total Kristy.

All’s Faire in Middle School by Victoria Jamieson. Dial. 2017.
Gr 4-8 –After being homeschooled for many years by her Renaissance-enthusiast parents, Imogene, who is white, is starting public school, but it’s not as easy as she thought it would be. Just like the babysitters, Imogene balances school and home life while dealing with tween issues.

Best Babysitters Ever by Caroline Cala. HMH. 2019.
Gr 5-8 –Best friends Malia, Dot, and Bree discover an old copy of Kristy’s Great Idea and decide to start a club of their own. In this funny story that highlights the close bonds among friends—a central part in the original series—Malia presents African American, Dot presents white, and Bree is “half Jewish.”

 

 

 

READ-ALIKES

There’s a slew of Wonder Woman books for kids, including Wonder Woman at Super Hero High (from the DC “Super Hero Girls” series by Lisa Yee; Random, 2016) and Diana: Princess of the Amazons by Shannon Hale (DC Comics, 2020) for younger readers, and Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo (Random, 2017) and Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed by Laurie Halse Anderson (DC Comics, 2020). Check out the Wonder Woman comics, too.

MORE READ-ALIKES

Renegades by Marissa Meyer. Feiwel & Friends. 2017.
Gr 8 Up –Nova, a white teen with superpowers, rejects the Renegades, a society of superheroes that failed to save her own family, and she plans to destroy them from the inside. Then Adrian, a Renegade boy, appears on the scene, and things get complicated in this fast-paced adventure.

Faith: Hollywood and Vine by Jody Houser, illus. by Francis Portella & Marguerite Sauvage. Valiant. 2016.
Gr 8 Up –Stepping out on her own after adventuring as a sidekick to superhero Harbinger, white nerd girl Faith uncovers a conspiracy and uses her superpowers to save the day. Faith’s origin story has recently been novelized by Julie Murphy in Faith: Taking Flight (HarperCollins/Balzer + Bray, 2020).

 

 

 

READ-ALIKES

My So-Called Bollywood Life by Nisha Sharma. Crown. 2018.
Gr 7-10 –Bollywood fanatic Winnie Mehta, who is Indian American, believes that marrying her boyfriend Raj is her destiny, but when he cheats on her, she has to figure out a new path forward. There’s a boy at her new job who might fit the bill. A funny, feel-good rom-com.

Tell Me How You Really Feel by Aminah Mae Safi. Feiwel & Friends. 2019.
Gr 7 Up –Filmmaker Rachel Recht, who is Jewish Mexican, is forced to work with her archnemesis, South Asian Persian Muslim cheerleader Sana Khan, for her final film project. But as they start collaborating, sparks fly. Rachel and Sana get off to a rocky start in this witty teen romance about a smart girl on the cusp of graduating high school.

The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love by Sarvenaz Tash. S & S. 2016.
Gr 9 Up –Graham and Roxy have been best friends forever, but when their favorite comic creator announces his first appearance at a con in 20 years, Graham decides to bring Roxy and declare his love. Things do not go as planned. As in Dimple, nerds unite for love; both books feature an insider look into a geeky world (a comic convention and an app development competition). Graham is white and Roxy is Persian American.

 

 

 

READ-ALIKES

The Gravity of Us by Phil Stamper. Bloomsbury. Feb. 2020.
Gr 7 Up –When Cal’s father is selected as an astronaut candidate and his family must participate in a reality show about the astronauts’ lives, Cal has to adjust to life in the spotlight. He also develops a crush on his fellow “astrokid” Leon. Like Victor, Cal must balance family struggles while navigating new friends and relationships in this rom-com. Cal and his family are white.

You Should See Me in a Crown by Leah Johnson. Scholastic. Feb. 2020.
Gr 7 Up –Liz Lighty, who is Black, wouldn’t be caught dead in her school’s cutthroat contest for prom queen, but when she doesn’t get the scholarship she expected, she enters the competition for a shot at the prize money. A rom-com with a protagonist figuring out how to fit in with classmates who are very different from her.

Only Mostly Devastated by Sophie Gonzales. Wednesday Bks. March 2020.
Gr 8 Up –In this updated take on Grease, Ollie, who is white, hopes his summer fling with Venezuelan-American Will can turn into something more, only to find that Will is firmly in the closet back at school. Another lighthearted LGBT romance that will especially appeal to readers interested in Victor’s decision about how to come out.

 

 

 

READ-ALIKES

Dragons in a Bag by Zetta Elliott. Random. 2018.
Gr 2-5 –Nine-year-old Jax,who is Black, joins a witch who lives in his Brooklyn building on a journey to deliver three baby dragons to a magical world. An appealing fantasy adventure.

Frostborn (Thrones & Bones: Bk. 1) by Lou Anders. Crown. 2014.
Gr 4-6 –Human Karn and half-human, half-giantess Thianna undertake a journey together when both must flee their homes for different reasons. Along the way, they encounter magical creatures in this funny, adventure-filled fantasy. Karn presents white in this Norse-inspired fantasy.

Dealing with Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede. Harcourt. 1990.
Gr 5-9 –Princess Cimorene, who is white, leaves proper court life to live with a group of dragons and help defend their territory from wizards in this witty tale. Fencing and adventure ensue.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?